George Eliot

George Eliot

George Eliot
1819 -1880

George Eliot Biography

George Eliot biography and 14 books available to download for free for iPhone, iPad, Nook, Android, and Kindle in PDF and all popular eBook reader formats (AZW3, EPUB, MOBI).

George Eliot (1819-1880) was the pseudonym of Mary Ann Evans, a British novelist, poet, and translator. She was born in Warwickshire, England and began her literary career as a translator of German literature. She later turned to writing fiction and published her first novel, "Adam Bede," in 1859. This was followed by several more novels, including "The Mill on the Floss," "Silas Marner," and "Middlemarch," which is considered her masterpiece.

Eliot's writing was known for its realism and psychological depth, as well as its exploration of social and moral issues. Her work was heavily influenced by her own experiences and observations, as well as her interest in philosophy and religion. She was also a vocal advocate for women's rights and was part of the intellectual circles of her time.

Eliot's private life was also notable, as she lived with and eventually married a married man, George Henry Lewes, and both faced social rejection because of it. Despite this, she continued to write and publish her work and was widely respected by her peers and readers. She died in London in 1880 at the age of 61.

Other authors you may like