E.M. Forster

E.M. Forster

E.M. Forster
1879 -1970

E.M. Forster Biography

Edward Morgan Forster, commonly known as E.M. Forster, was a British novelist, essayist, and short story writer. He was born on January 1, 1879, in London, England, and died on June 7, 1970. He was educated at King's College, Cambridge, where he formed a close friendship with fellow writer and critic Goldsworthy Lowes Dickinson.

Forster's first novel, "Where Angels Fear to Tread," was published in 1905, and his most famous works include "A Room with a View" (1908), "Howards End" (1910), and "A Passage to India" (1924). He also wrote several collections of short stories, including "The Celestial Omnibus" and "The Eternal Moment."

Forster's writing is known for its exploration of class and social distinctions, as well as its focus on human relationships and the search for connection and understanding. He was also a strong advocate for liberal and progressive causes, and was an open homosexual at a time when it was not socially acceptable.

Forster was awarded the Order of Merit in 1969 and was made a Companion of Honour in the same year. He died in Coventry in 1970 and was cremated at Golders Green Crematorium.

5 E.M. Forster books available to download for free for iPhone, iPad, Nook, Android, and Kindle in PDF and all popular eBook reader formats (AZW3, EPUB, MOBI).

The ultimate solution for managing individual tasks and collaborative projects

Plans, task lists, schedules, file shares, specifications, workflows, validation, real-time chat, and more.


Other authors you may like