Arthur Ransome

Arthur Ransome

Arthur Ransome
1884 -1967

Arthur Ransome Biography

Arthur Ransome biography and 6 books available to download for free for iPhone, iPad, Android, and Kindle in PDF and all popular eBook reader formats (AZW3, EPUB, MOBI).

Arthur Ransome was an English author, who lived from 1884 to 1967. He is best known for his children's books, especially the "Swallows and Amazons" series, which is set in the Lake District of England and tells the story of a group of children who sail on holiday and have adventures on and around the lake.

Ransome was born in Leeds, England, and was educated at Rugby School and at Cambridge University. After graduation, he worked as a journalist in Russia and London. During World War I, he served as a foreign correspondent and spy for the British government. After the war, he settled in the Lake District where he began writing children's books.

The "Swallows and Amazons" series, which consisted of 12 books, was published between 1930 and 1947. The books were popular and remain popular today, and they have been adapted into films, TV shows, and stage productions. Ransome's other books include "Peter Duck" and "Pigeon Post" which also set in the Lake District.

Ransome was also an enthusiastic sailor and sailor himself, and many of his stories are based on his own experiences sailing in the Lake District and the Norfolk Broads. He died in 1967 in Suffolk, England.

The ultimate solution for managing individual tasks and collaborative projects

Plans, task lists, schedules, file shares, specifications, workflows, validation, real-time chat, and more.